Skip to content

Pretty ponies and chicken wings

July 13, 2010

TWO people today told me my horse was pretty. One even used the phrase “utterly gorgeous” which did nothing to lessen Cass’ already high opinion of himself. He even does a hair toss thing when prancing around in the pasture which usually makes me whisper “Fabio…” at him.

But I, who should think the most of him, don’t really think he is that pretty. I think he more in the cute category. Like, “aww, I just want to squeezle you all up!” He’s huggable.

Anyway, I rode again today. I think my leg looks a little better today (emphasis on little) with the stirrup lengthening but I still look icky. Especially my arms and hands. Flappy flappy and bouncy bouncy. I’m sure that has at least something to do with the newly reacquired head tucking habit. It isn’t as bad as it was a few years ago (he would literally put his chin on his chest, even on the loosest rein) but it’s still a bad habit.

On the plus side – I cantered today! And he was good! A little quick for a few strides but definitely nothing unmanageable. Just not something you would want to see in the hunter ring – but that’s why we’re not doing hunters! I only cantered for like a third of the arena and a 15 meterish circle, since that wasn’t really on the plans today and was just something I wanted to try because he is being SO good.

More trotting today, but not really any working trot. More of me trying to get him long and low and him ducking his head (although there were a few good strides). Lots and lots of walking.

My videographer was having a couple of seizures or something (and I even edited the worse ones out) sooo…not the best video, but there are a few non spastic moments. You can even see his first trot/canter transition in about four months. It only took the entire short side of the arena; I was so proud.

Tomorrow, is going to be an actual working day, I think. He is apparently relaxed enough here. I am NOT going to ride in that ugly subconscious way that I have been to try and encourage him to put his neck down low. I am going to be a dressage rider, and he will be my dressage horse with reins that have contact on them. And then after, I might take him on a “trail ride”. People here are always walking around the property (which is pretty big) on their horses, so I guess it’s allowed. I think tomorrow we’ll explore the polo field and galloping track.

I really, really, really want to ride him on the polo field soon. I really, really, really want to gallop him on the polo field too, but probably that won’t be soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 11:54 am

    Ah, sorry…he’s gorgeous! :-)

  2. July 19, 2010 4:19 pm

    Awww, he IS quite handsome for sure! :)

  3. August 6, 2010 3:11 pm

    He is so handsome :)

Leave a Reply

