Skip to content

Hey, look! It’s me!

September 19, 2009

A video of part of my lesson on Thursday.  Trainer T wanted to film us so that we could see how we ride.  I ride very ickily-sloppily and don’t even notice it usually :(.

But I am noticing it now…see, I can even list them for you!:

  • my icky arms and hands
  • my chair seat
  • my weird over bent two point over most “jumps”
  • bouncy bouncy butt
  • swingy swingy legs
  • the way the over emphasized two point pushes my leg back and my
  • heels up
  • steering with hands, not legs
  • plus many, many more

Anyway, in the lesson we were practicing counting strides over teeny jumps and smooth turns for courses.  I get the stride counting.  Smooth turns – not so much.  At least not on CC; they feel alright on Cass (who should be here FRIDAY!!!!)

But then, everything feels alright on Cass and it obviously isn’t.  I wonder if I am just so used to all my faults on him that I don’t even notice them until the horse feels so different?  Guess I’ll find out in A WEEK OR LESS!!!!

_______________________________________________________

I had a lesson today on the Grey Geezer.  No jumping in this one, but lots of two point and two point to posting trot/canter transitions.  More on this tomorrow or Monday because I am tired now.  I had to wake up early and everything.

_______________________________________________________

Cass is leaving California on Tuesday, so he should be in Missouri by Friday or Saturday!!!!  Maybe even Thursday if they pick him up early.  I miss Mr. Snob :(

He's actually never run into anything while doing this.  A miracle.

He's actually never run into anything while doing this. A miracle.

Cass enjoys trying to eat the camera.  Most of the photos before this were of his tongue.

Cass enjoys trying to eat the camera. Most of the photos before this were of his tongue.

Yes, I know the photos are really bad…I only have my phone…I need to buy this.  Because I am going to want to take a bunch of photos of him spooking at everything when he gets here.  Also what he does when it snows.  That one should be pretty interesting since he is even prissy about tall grass.

_______________________________________________________

And Missouri has HUGE spiders!  Ick!  I saw one like this that was a leg span of at least 4-5 inches.

I hate spiders.  Can you imagine waking up with this on your arm?!

I hate spiders. Can you imagine waking up with this on your arm?!

And then another in the barn that was about 3.5 inches – apparently it was a wolf spider and not poisonous, but it still looked pretty scary.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 7:30 pm

    SOunds like a fun lesson! It is fun to see the midwest through your eyes! The first spider is a garden spider and is harmless. The wolf spiders are my least favorite. They are called wolf spiders because it was once believed that they hunted in packs. This is not true, however, they DO hunt their prey rather than trapping it in a web. They are also aggressive and will charge at humans. Stomp them whenever possible. Also a fun fact, wolf spiders are one of two kinds of spiders whose eyes reflect light in the dark (like a cat). So, that would be really creepy at night in the woods with a flashlight!

    • September 20, 2009 4:06 am

      Ack! A spider that attacks and has glowing eyes?! I think I just found my new least favorite arachnid. I will happily be stomping them from now on.

  2. September 19, 2009 10:46 pm

    Oh my gosh. I’m cracking up at the picture of “Mr. Snob” because I have a Mr. Snob of my own!! I’ve never seen another horse do this ’till this pic! Obviously it’s an A-R-A-B thang, but still, I’ve known other Arabs and haven’t seen this maneuver until Caspian. I have a couple pics posted of him doing it, one on this blog post: http://thiskuntryarabian.blogspot.com/2009/06/honest-scrap.html. Too darn funny. He’s never actually run into anything either, which surprises the heck outta me. Sometimes he does it when he’s just walking around too, like if he’s trying to tell me that he’s ready to eat. He’s definitely got the Arab-tude thing covered, and it looks like Cass does too! So cool that he’ll be with you soon! P.S. I think you look great riding. It is cool to be able to look back at video though. As painful as it is to watch, it’s such a great teaching tool. But again, I think you look great! :)

    • September 20, 2009 4:04 am

      I have always assumed it is just an Arrogant Arabian thing, but had never seen another horse do it either!

  3. September 20, 2009 10:16 am

    Love the pictures! Ha, you make me happy I’m not in rural MO! I’ve never seen a spider anywhere near that big.

    Hope your boy arrives safe and sound, and sooner rather than later :)

    • September 23, 2009 8:06 pm

      Lucky you! I have seen so many huge spiders since moving here and it has barely been a month. And even more fun, apparently they all like to come in and snuggle with you in your bed during the winter.

  4. September 21, 2009 10:22 pm

    We call those spiders banana spiders but my daughter calls them “AAAAAHHHHHHH!”

    She’s kind of phobic about spiders.

    Glad Cass is enroute and thanks for the follow!

    • September 23, 2009 8:04 pm

      “AAAAAHHHHHHH!” is the perfect name for them. Your daughter must be very smart :)

  5. February 5, 2010 11:33 am

    Love the jumping lesson..I think you two look great! :)

Leave a Reply

