Skip to content

♪ Jump, Jump! Everybody Jump with Me! ♫ ♪

September 9, 2009

♫ ♪ Jump, Jump!

♫ Everybody jump, Everybody jump!

Everybody jump with me! ♪

♪ Everybody jump, Everybody jump!

Everybody jump with me! ♫ ♪

Kindergarten songs are very active.  No wonder we needed nap time. Anyway, guess what I did today?  Betcha can’t, even with that super non-hinting song.

Ok, I’ll tell you – I jumped.  And it was Huuuuge – like, three inches…maybe even three and a half or four!

Hmm, alright, not very impressive, but Wait!  There’s More!  It was on the cross country course!

Oh, and I was on a new horse.  The Chomping Chestnut as he shall henceforth be known.  He is, oddly enough, chestnut and he, strangely enough, like to eat a lot.  Or rather, eat a little of everything.  Like leaves that he would pull out of the trees as we were walking under, or a nice, tasty branch from a bush, or a dandelion that he very sneakily grabbed up as we were trotting past.

CC is pretty different from GG.  When I first saw CC, he actually acknowledged me instead of going to stand in the corner and pretend like I couldn’t see him because he couldn’t see me and hope that I wouldn’t put the girth on.  And he very politely quit eating so I could put his halter on and then very politely followed me back to the barns.  No attempted biting at all and he didn’t even try to step on my feet.

I had had to ask where he was since he wasn’t in his stall, and somebody led me over to where he was turned out (which was kind of far away, and I had already wasted a bit of time looking for him other places, so I was getting kind of late for my lesson) and CC was a very sloooow walker back to the barn.  The girl who had showed me where he was started on about how he was getting old, but was just perfect out on the course and a “super sweet old guy”.

Hm, I’m okay with older horses, I thought, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to be stuck on a slow old thing all semester…I like the more forward, challenging horses.  And not challenging meaning that you have to sit there thumping and spurring and cropping to get them to trot.  Although that has been good for my leg muscles.

So anyway, I get CC back to his stall and begin to (quickly) groom him and (quickly) tack him up.  CC acted old the whole time – standing in a very relaxed way and yawning.

I go out to the arena to mount up and prepare to walk out to the field when…CC stops pretending to be old and shows his true (mental) age.  Which I think is probably 5.  Or maybe he actually is 5 and that person lied to me to protect her identity.  He refused to stand for mounting and then he would not stop walking after I had mounted.  Then he decided he should probably trot and spook a little, before Trainer T came and told me to drop my crop (rhyme!).  This calmed him down a little – he quit trotting – but he still wouldn’t stop until after I circled him a few times.

We walked about a lap and then began to make our way out to the XC.  CC liked to look at things, but didn’t spook.  But he did attempt to Mike Tyson the horse’s ear next to him.  I found out that he isn’t very good with most other horses.

So we finally get out to the field and you can feel all of the horses tense up because suddenly they have a lot more energy now that they are looking at big open spaces.  CC tried trotting a few times, but comes right down.  He actually listens a lot better out there than he did in the arena.

Trainer T has set up a makeshift arena and two very small crossrails.  One she knocked down to poles which we practiced two pointing over.  Which I thought I already knew how to do, but apparently I do it wrong.  This new way is much more painful, but I am told that it will make me balanced.  Whatever you say, Trainer T….

After deciding that everyone could, in fact, trot over a pole in a somewhat balanced two point position, Trainer T sets up that ginormous crossrail I mentioned earlier.  Yeah, that staggering 3 inch one.  So we all take turns jumping it a few times, starting at the trot from the opposite corner and going down a little hill, up the little hill, and then making the turn for the jump.

The Chomping Chestnut gets quite enthusiastic about the downhill part.  He has this really short strided trot anyway, but posting to his fast trot is…interesting looking, I am sure.  It’s up, down, up, down really, really fast; like it would be if I were riding a pony except CC is at least 16.0-16.1.  A lot of work (especially the whole slowing him down with the post bit) but actually he was a very fun horse to ride.

Since the jump was so huge, I didn’t really get to see what his jumping ability was like, but I am going to guess it is quick.  He probably used to be a pretty good little jumper back when he wasn’t “old” – I’ll have to ask next lesson.

Next lesson is on Thursday, and on CC again.  I think we are supposed to start gridwork.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 10:44 pm

    Too fun! You’re right, I *never* would have guessed that you jumped today! ;) I’m jealous! I, myself, attempted to ride Caspian bareback today and discovered that I need to build myself a real mounting block, rather than try to use an old rickety bucket that’s not tall enough…glad your day went better than mine!! :)

    • September 10, 2009 5:13 pm

      Ha, I have tried the wobbly bucket thing. Did not go well! Hope you eventually got up there :)

  2. September 20, 2009 10:10 am

    Aww, how fun! CC sounds a lot like a mare I know. She’s 19 going on 3, I have to say. She’s got the most forward walk on the face of the planet; she can walk faster than some of the western pleasure horses in our barn can trot! I love the mare. <3

    Glad you had fun jumping! Yeah, I hear you about having to change your two-point position. My motto has become, "If it doesn't hurt, you're not doing it right." And most of the time, that's true!

Leave a Reply

