Skip to content

Big open spaces

August 29, 2009

Yesterday I had a riding lesson.  And in this riding lesson I rode a horse.  Specifically, a horse known (by me) as the Grey Geezer – a tall dappley old show hunter.

GG is alright, calm and level headed, but he is kind of a grumpy old man.  And not the 40-grit-sandpaper-exterior-and-gooey-and-delicious-cinnamon-roll-interior either – he is grumpy all the way through.  He was really thankful that I tightened up his girth for him and, not being a hallmark card kind of horse, got right down to the nitty gritty and showed his extreme gratitude by biting my arm.  And no ‘Gee thanks, but I don’t really mean it” kind of bite – he really wanted to let me know how much he appreciated me.  Because he had already shown me his gracious nature when I was brushing him, picking out his feet, and putting his saddle on.  You know, just to let me know how thankful he is that I am letting him out of his 12×12 and brushing his own poo off his back.  He is just so filled with gratitude.  Overflowing, practically.

He is also pretty lazy under saddle.  When Trainer T says trot, the Grey Geezer says walk slowly.  Kick, kick, kick, crop.  Walk, walk, walk, tralk.  Rinse and repeat.  And try to post.  And steer.  And not run over the person walking around.

Bleh, lazy horse made my legs hurt.  :(  <<Ouchy-my-inner-thighs-hurt-today face

So after about 45 minutes of “trotting” and two pointing and trying to make lazy grey horses move, trainer T and I started having a little conversation:

Do I ever ride outside the arena?  No, of course not.  Horses aren’t allowed on sidewalks.

I’m supposed to ride in the grass?  Um, well no, I’m not.  They aren’t allowed on lawns or golf courses either – you can’t even have your little frilly dog on someone’s yard because it might poop.  What would happen if that little old guy that comes out for the newspaper in his robe and underwear every morning walks out and sees a big pile o’ horsey poo?  He probably wouldn’t call it free fertilizer either, although he might call it some other things.

What is this word you speak of?  This “field”?

No comprendo.  What do you mean you can just go out and ride around in a big open grassy area?  Those haven’t existed since before man learned how to build strip malls and tear down rainforests.

______________________________________________________________________

You see, apparently Trainer T is a little bit on the delusional side since she seems to think that the big open spaces exist and are accessible to the general equestrian population of Missouri.

Oh well, at least she gives good lessons for a crazy delusional person.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 7:48 pm

    “You know, that horse riding sport with big logs, stadium, and dressage all in one? That one that no one ever rides an Arab in? Right, that’s the one.”

    Hey, my trainer takes a 1/2 arab BN for a client of hers! They’ve even won a couple shows. Have faith in your arab :) That’s what’s so great about eventing: any horse can do it!

    Geeze, where in Missouri do you live? I’m about 10 minutes outside of Kansas City, and let me tell you, there’s plenty of wide open spaces to go around. There are a few parks to trailer out to, and the barn has a few trails. If you’ve got a trailer, I bet you’re within 30 minutes of a place to take your horse trail riding! :)

    (I love your writing style, by the way. So funny! My horse, too, is very appreciative of my efforts in the grooming department.)

    • August 30, 2009 11:26 pm

      Ooops, guess I didn’t explain that well – I am coming from a pretty populated area in California (the state, not the city!) and they did not have fields. There are PLENTY of fields where I am now. In fact, I am due on a XC course next week *so excited!*

      And yay for eventing arabs!

  2. August 30, 2009 11:46 pm

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by Caspian’s blog! I love seeing people with Arabians with “non-Arabian” goals. I would also love to event with Caspian someday. I think my first step will be dressage and light jumping. My trainer events with her Arab and says he kicks bootie next to the warmbloods, etc. I think it’s all about the heart and effort. I look forward to you future posts! Your boy is gorgeous by the way! :)

    • August 31, 2009 12:36 am

      I think if you’ve got a good Arab doing it, they can be awesome eventers – they have the endurance, the pretty dressage-ness, and can speed around the courses a whole lot faster than a big old warmblood could.

      And of course all that Arabian heart and effort :)

Leave a Reply

